IMPORTANT NOTE: please reconfirm this information with your Airline Company.

A valid passport is required to enter Costa Rica. Passport must not expire within six months.

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are permitted to stay in Costa Rica for 90 days without a visa:

Germany, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, United States, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Principality of Monaco, San Marino, Puerto Rico, Serbia, South Africa, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Czech Republic, Republic of South Korea, Hellenic Republic (Greece), Romania, Vatican City, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Republic of China (Taiwan), Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay.

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are allowed to stay in Costa Rica for 30 days without a visa, though once in the country:

Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Bolivia, Dominica, El Salvador, Philippines, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern Marianas, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Maldives, Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Kingdom of Tonga, Samoa, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Suriname, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

Citizens from the following countries must obtain a Visa from a Costa Rican embassy or consulate before arrival, for a maximum of 30 days:

Albania, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Benin, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Negara Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bhutan, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Colombia, Cóte d'Ivore, Comoros, Chad, Ecuador, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Russian Federation, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Libia, Lebanon, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Qatar, Saharahui Arab Republic, Central African Republic, Republic of Macedonia, Republic of The Congo, Democratic Republic of The Congo, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Dominican Republic, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Thailand, Tanzania, Tajikistan, East Timor, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukrain, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Yemen, Djibouti, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Citizens from the following countries must obtain a Restricted Visa from the Costa Rican General Director of Migration, consulted by a Costa Rican embassy or consulate before arrival:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cuba, Haiti, Iran (Islamic Republic Of), Iraq, Myanmar (Birmania), Palestinan Territory, Syrian Arab Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Somalia, Sri Lanka.